Po symbolicznej edycji w 2020 roku Jazz nad Odrą powraca w pełnej krasie. Pięć dni koncertów na trzech scenach, gwiazdy polskiego i światowego jazzu oraz tradycyjne jam session do rana – Strefa Kultury Wrocław odkrywa pierwsze karty tegorocznego programu.
Kamieniec Ząbkowicki is a picturesque town located in the south-eastern part of the Lower Silesia Province. The proximity to the ranges of the Złote Mountains and the Bardo Mountains makes it a perfect place for a weekend break. The season in the commune lasts all year round, because apart from the mountains, there are numerous architectural and religious monuments.
FORMER EVANGELIC CHURCH
CURRENTLY CALLED THE “RED CHURCH”
Built in 1885, the church of The Holy Trinity is part of the palace and park complex. In the past, it was equipped not only with a clock, three bells and organs, but also installations – central heating and electricity. In 1945, the building was devastated and valuable elements of equipment were taken away. Currently, after renovation and reconstruction works, regular exhibitions and concerts are organized in the building.
PALACE AND PARK COMPLEX
MARIANNA ORAŃSKA RESIDENCE
The palace in Kamieniec Ząbkowicki is an architectural pearl of Lower Silesia and the best example of neo-Gothic architecture. It was built in the second half of the nineteenth century on the initiative of Princess Marianna of Orange (1810 – 1883) on the basis of a preliminary design by architect Karl Schinkel, after whose death the implementation of the plans was taken over by his student – the young architect Ferdinand Martius.
The cornerstone for the construction of the palace was laid on October 15, 1838, and on April 20, 1839, work began on the construction of the residence. Princess Marianna constantly interfered with the design of the palace, changing the smallest details.
There were over 100 larger and smaller rooms in the palace, a palace chapel and two huge halls. One of them, the most representative, so-called dining room, was decorated with two enormous frescoes: The Wedding at Cana and The Feast of Belshazzar.
The construction of the palace was completed 33 years after its commencement – on May 8, 1872, however, minor works on the building, as well as interior furnishing, lasted until 1902.
After World War II, the historic palace was devastated and looted, and what was left of it was consumed by a fire that broke out on January 22, 1946. In 1986, the facility was leased to a private person for 40 years. In 2012, the commune regained the building, and then began its reconstruction in a short time. Thanks to numerous investments, which made it possible to carry out cleaning, renovation and conservation works, the building gained a new splendor and from May 2013 it is already open to tourists.
P.W. Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. JAMES THE ELDER
The construction of the first church began at the end of the 13th century in the Gothic style. At the end of the 17th century, it was decided to rebuild the church in the baroque style. The central point of the temple in Kamieniec is the multi-storey main altar made of polychrome pine wood.
The first monastery building was built in the Middle Ages, creating a characteristic square with a patio around which cloisters were erected. There were craft workshops, a mill, a brewery, a blacksmith’s shop and a bakery in the monastery. In the second half of the 17th century, the monastery was rebuilt in the baroque style. It was then that the abbey palace, which still exists today, was erected, where the Branch of the State Archives in Wrocław has been located since 1992.
KAMIENIEC CHAMBER OF MEMORIAL
(Kościelna 3, Kamieniec Ząbkowicki)
It was established in 2002 on the initiative of the Kamieniec Land Society. In two exhibition halls, you can see archaeological and ethnographic exhibits as well as liturgical vestments and equipment.
Lower Silesia is a wealth of bicycle routes. Discover the best of the many routes!
Shared moments with the family, sports adventures, discovering the region from the perspective of two wheels - all this can be offered by Lower Silesia
Peace and quiet, unpaved routes - that sounds like slow travel. See the Slow Travel map of Lower Silesia with attractions in the spirit of slow tourism
It is no coincidence that Ząbkowice Śląskie, called the City of the Leaning Tower and Frankenstein, is an extraordinary town in Lower Silesia with unique attractions. It is here that the only such Leaning Tower is located and it is in Ząbkowice Śląskie that the terrible story about Frankenstein has its roots.
The fact that the land of Kłodzko has been a great place to relax for centuries can be attributed to the wonderful natural values and the crystal clear springs of the spas. The central point of the region, the Kłodzko Valley, is surrounded by the following mountains: Bardzkie, Sowie, Suche, Stołowe, Bystrzyckie, Orlickie, the Śnieżnik Massif, Bialskie and Złote.
The areas belonging to the Lądek-Zdrój Commune are located in the Kłodzko Valley, in the Eastern Sudetes, at the south-west end of the Lower Silesia Province.
It is even hard to imagine how we would endure many hours of hiking in the mountains, if there wound't be a prospect of even a short rest on the route - in a shelter, providing a moment of rest from the wind, rain and snow, as well as the sun scorching in the summer.
There was a belief that nothing more than what had already been discovered after the great heritage of the Cistercian musical culture in Kamieniec Ząbkowicki has survived. This was the case until the parish priest opened the organ cabinet in the choir ...