We use cookies to enhance your experience. By continuing to visit this site you agree to our use of cookies.
Akceptuję Privacy policy

Szklarska Poręba

The history of Szklarska Poręba was always bound with the progress of glass industry, with the search for precious gemstones, and from the 19th century with mountain tourism.

At the end of the thirteenth century, land of Szklarska Poreba were bought by the Order of the Knights from Cieplice(nowadays Jelenia Góra district) in order to search for gold and precious stones. In the mid-fourteenth century, the first glassworks was established. The Schaffgotsch family was the owner of the land and the initiator of the establishment of other glassworks, whose property was also in the mountains and foothills. At that time, the Karkonosze Mountains were penetrated by land treasure hunters who came to Western Europe, they were called the Walloons. Some of their traces are excavations shafts and also secret marks engraved on the rocks, which also testify to the mineral richness of these areas.


The development of glass production was associated with the process of deforestation. To smelt glass with wood, the glassworks “wandered” along the streams into the mountains, and with them the settlements of steelworkers, lumberjacks and dusters. The “traveling glassworks” was called Szklarska Poręba(lit. glass cutting). As the time passed shepherds settlements were established at these deforested areas, which gave rise to the history of the city. The name was ordered by the Silesian Institute in 1946 and announced in the Official Journal of the Regained Territories No. 5.  And it was a result of merging few glassworks. To name a few it was a Czeska Struga(1575),  Biała Dolina (1754), Orle(1842), the biggest glassworks factory was originally called “Józefina”, and after 1945 “Julia”. For several hundred years, the glass industry has been the leading branch of the local economy. The arrival of Czech protestants – religious emigrants to Szklarska Poręba in 1578, which was settled on the Silesian side by count Schaffgotsch known for his religious tolerance.

herbal remedies. In the course of the 17th and 18th centuries, other housing estates were built, and so at the beginning of the 19th century Szklarska Poręba became one of the most significant Sudeten villages. It consisted of 26 settlements and hamlets with 336 houses, two churches (Catholic and Evangelical), four schools, two glassworks and sixteen grinders, three mills and a sawmill. The main source of income for the local population was forest work (lumberjacks and dusters), glass smelting, as well as farming and shepherding. It was the shepherd’s huts in the alpine pastures that gave rise to today’s mountain shelters.


Since the 19th century tourism started it’s rapid developement. The desire to have a personal experience from mountains allowed Szklarska Poręba to become a very famous station thus made available to inhabitants of Lower Silesia. The breakthrough was the construction of the road from Piechowice through the Szklarska Pass to Harrachov in 1847. and the railline from Jelenia Góra to Tanvald in 1902. From that moment on, Szklara Poręba, developes tourism, consolidated its function as main destination of winter sports tourism. Another event important for the development of tourism was the construction of the “Szrenica” cableway (chairlift) in 1962.


At the end of the 19th century, the news about the charm of the village and the beauty of its surroundings caused an influx of artists – writers, poets, painters and sculptors – to Szklarska Poręba. This is how a kind of artistic colony was created, the traditions of which are continued by contemporary artists.


After 1945, most of the accommodation facilities in Szklarska Poręba became the property of the Employee Holiday Fund and Szklarska Poręba became one of the most famous holiday resorts in Poland. Szklarska Poręba obtained city rights in 1959.



Explore more:

Traces of the past

The cultural inheritance that has been experienced by the contemporary inhabitants of Lower Silesia is, in fact, priceless. To the turbulent fortunes and the multinational society that contributed to the history of the region, Lower Silesian people owe to this day enchanting and mysterious castles, richly decorated palaces and magnificent sacred buildings, which together give larger or smaller towns and villages of which they are treasures a truly unique character. ...

The Okraj Pass and the Na Przełęczy Okraj shelter

The pass is located in the eastern Karkonosze Mountains and rises to a height of 1046 m above sea level.

Mirsk commune

An urban-rural commune in the south-western part of the Lower Silesia Province, situated at the foot of the Izera Mountains, on the route from Szklarska Poręba to Świeradów-Zdrój.

The legacy of the Reformation – the European Reformation Cultural Route

Five centuries after the Protestant movement initiated by Martin Luther reached the territory of Poland, the cultural heritage of the Reformation is still visible to the naked eye in Lower Silesia and Cieszyn Silesia.

Łomniczka Cirque

The largest and deepest post-glacial cirque in the Polish part of the Karkonosze Mountains is located just above Karpacz, between Kopa and Śnieżka mountains.

The Mały Staw Cirque

Undoubtedly - one of the most beautiful places in the Karkonosze Mountains.

Hala Szrenicka

From this high-mountain meadow, surrounding the main ridge of the Karkonosze on both sides, there is a beautiful panorama of the Jizera Mountains.

Ideas for an active weekend in Lower Silesia

If you like spending time actively, check out the blog of Łukasz Kędzierski, a traveler and photographer, and learn about his suggestions.