We use cookies to enhance your experience. By continuing to visit this site you agree to our use of cookies.
Akceptuję Privacy policy

Chojnik Castle

A Stone Defender

Legend has it that sometimes, on a clear moonlit night, you can see a ghost of one of the knights who lost their lives trying to ride around the castle in full gear to get the hand of the beautiful and ruthless princess Kunegunda. The story is set in a stone castle on the top of the hard-to-reach rocky Chojnik mountain. The castle, built on the orders of Bolesław Lys Rogatka, was originally intended to be a hunting court but around 1355, during the reign of Bolek II, it was replaced by a stronghold. The castle draws the attention of both hikers who go to the higher parts of the mountains, and accidental passers-by heading towards Jelenia Gora. The fortress, even for those times, was rather small although, due to its location in mountainous terrain it was extremely difficult to reach. After Bolek II’s death, his widow handed the castle over to Gutsche Schaff. The castle remained in the hands of the Silesian family until the end, i.e. until August 31st, 1675, when it burned down from a lightning strike. The Schaffgotschs then moved their family headquarters to Cieplice and the abandoned stronghold fell into ruin. In 1822 a hostel, which still operates today, was opened in the castle. In the ruins you can see the remains of the residential part, a huge round tower and defensive walls. An additional attraction are the knightly tournaments ‘For the Golden Bolt of Chojnik’ held in September which attract many families with children.

Most beautiful castles and palaces of Lower Silesia:

Christmas markets attract visitors in Wrocław and Lower Silesia

The Wrocław Christmas Market started on November 19. It will last until the end of the year until December 31, including New Year's Eve. It is also worth considering the fairs in Kliczków, Łomnica and at the Grodziec Castle as a tourist attraction.

A new underground tourist route at the Książ Castle

Wałbrzych - the capital of the Lower Silesian secrets, invites you

The white lady of the Grodno castle

For centuries, a white lady has haunted the Grodno castle. The local people said that she was the wife of the castellan of the castle, who, after losing her husband, threw herself from the walls into the abyss and wandered over them since then.

Architecture enthusiasts

The beauty and richness of Lower Silesian architecture has delighted millions of tourists who come every year to admire both the treasures of Wrocław and the entire region.

European Route of Castles and Palaces

Uroczysko Siedmiu Stawów Luxury Hotel

It is an ecological and exclusive place of rest for exceptional guests. It captivates with the unique atmosphere of a 16th-century Renaissance castle, in which historic interiors are decorated in a modern style.

Royal Palace

Located in the southern part of the historic Old Town, on one of the main streets in Wrocław, the Royal Palace is not only one of the most impressive buildings in the immediate vicinity of the Market Square, but also one of the most important monuments in the capital of Lower Silesia.

Sarny Castle

The 16th century castle in Ścinawka Górna in the Kłodzko County at the foot of the Stołowe Mountains.

Kamieniec Ząbkowicki

Kamieniec Ząbkowicki is a picturesque town located in the south-eastern part of the Lower Silesia Province. The proximity to the ranges of the Złote Mountains and the Bardo Mountains makes it a perfect place for a weekend break. The season in the commune lasts all year round, because apart from the mountains, there are numerous architectural and religious monuments.

Kliczków Castle

French dandy

A family weekend along the European Route of Castles and Palaces

A great idea to spend a family weekend in an unusual environment is to go on a journey along the European Trail of Castles and Palaces - it is a trip idea especially for history lovers but also for those looking for opportunities to rest and relax close to nature. Czocha Castle - Kliczkow Castle - Grodziec Castle

Staniszow Palace

The first mention of the village of Staniszow dates back to 1395. It was then the property of the princes of Reiss. The palace was built in 1784-1787 on the orders of Count Henry von Reiss.

Lomnica Palace

A place full of flavours

A legend of the evil counts

The beautiful Lesnica Castle has, like many places of its type, some terrible stories on the pages of history. One of them is a legend of the family of Counts von Forno who came to the Castle in the 17th century from the Czech Republic. They were not very popular and treated their subjects really badly. One of them humiliated the subjects physically and mentally and even stabbed one of his servants with a knife, which he then threw out of the window (apparently it i...

Tomir from Kliczkow Castle

The location of Kliczkow Castle alone, deep in Lower Silesian Forest, far away from populated places, can trigger our imagination.

Bolkow Castle

A Beaky Fortress